top of page
Search
Writer's pictureQueen Siti

Tutorial: Idiot's Guide To Acing Exams


Assalammualaikum and hello.

Welcome back to yet another 'promising' tutorial. As you can see in the title, I am going to share some tips on how to excel the upcoming exams you are to take. If you are a working adult and present here to merely scroll down, may I say this post could help you too? Albeit this millenial is still in progressing on building her life, she still hopes that these simple steps can be taken even with the smallest bit- if it works for you. A quite disclaimer; I myself am not a super genius whose head got stroked by the teachers while walking on the stage with applausing fans on the floor. I am only a mediocre student but this guide is what I do as one (as a student, I mean). Quit babbling around, let's get to the point. Step 1: Cherish the knowledge that you are given Before practising anything drastic, we need start from the bottom. Do you let your eyes open to see the hardship of thinkers, inventors, philosophers, and reseachers before us? Nikola Tesla had his reputation destroyed by Thomas Edison who left his idea unfulfilled. Stephen Hawking suffered from amyotrophic lateral sclerosis which led to physical disabilities. But these geniuses never let their obstacles stop them from inventing, and attaining success. All these people would sacrifice anything and everything for knowledge and science. Hence, it is our job to appreciate them by learning and loving what we learn. Knowledge is one of the atoms that make us powerful. Though I am still lack of it, it would be a shame of me if I block myself from obtaining anything that is related to knowledge. By becoming students and learners, we are considered blessed to be given the knowledge in the form of books that are already been classified into chapters. Our only job is to read, understand, and practise. I understand that the hardships of learning are more than reading, understanding, and practising, but hear me out. We will give this topic a deeper touch in the fourth step. Step 2: Scheduling is everything This step is connected to me in so many patterns. Back in my high school days, I created my own daily schedule that I follow everyday -even on the weekends- since I was a freshman. So, it is clear that my retrospect tells me in order to become successful, you need a schedule throughout your day, everyday. To give an example, I still remember I returned home from school at 5 p.m.. As soon as I was arrived at about 5.30 p.m., I would give myself a few minutes to check my messages and took a shower right after that. After cleaning my restless body, I continued my intermission for the rest of the evening. I am aware of how long I take my recess everyday and I have a strong ground why. Firstly, my self-awareness teaches me do anything based on my ability. I know my illness and weak physical body would torture me if I push myself too fiercely. Secondly, I don't fancy turning books' pages in the evening. In my point of view, evening is made to do physical activities and enjoying the beauty in the breeze. (Yet, here I am. Cussing over my deaths on mobile games every evening after school.) So, I decided to take the whole evening as a period to spoil myself. At about 7 p.m., I prepared myself to perform Maghrib prayer and read the Al-Quran. Dinner would be taken at 8 p.m., and I would start my night study after performing Isya' prayer. The study continued till my bed time which was about 11 p.m. to 12 a.m.. On the weekends, I wake up at 9 a.m. but it is very advisable for you to get up earlier- Don't copy me in this part. After taking my morning shower, I did my compulsory house chore which is doing the laundry, and started my study routine at 10:30 a.m. until 1.30 p.m.. At the time, as usual, Zuhr prayer would be done then I treated myself by enjoying lunch and took a few minutes rest. I continued swotting until the clock reached the time 4:30 p.m.. Then again, I performed Asr prayer, took a rest for the whole evening, and carried on with the study at night akin like the weekdays. To initiate your own schedule, you need to savvy your own limits and ability like I do. Choose the best time you likely to study. Whether it is late at night or early in the morning, it depends on the time for your brain's ability to perceive information to the fullest. Most importantly, determine certain subject in your every study routine. For example, you would like study Science from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. and change to English for another hour. Picking specific chapter for every subject is also crucial. Let's say, you are aware of your frailty in Chapter 7 in Math, so your keen mind decide to revise the chapter for an hour and go on with the next chapter when finished. Making schedules is one of all keys leading to triumph so I suggest you to regain better consciousness on the tips I stated just now. Step 3: Don't let the studies block you from enjoying your hobbies This step had been my mistake for the past year. During the most critical exam in my senior year, I took a hiatus from playing archery due to my fear of failure. I was immensely agitated over not excelling the exam that I thought quitting my hobbies was the brightest idea. Now folks, I am certain this step is tangible to most individuals. Whether your hobby is destroying your enemies' heads on video games, kindly gawking at your cat who is in slumber, or headbanging to the harmony coming from the speaker of your phone, you deserve to live every single moment of it. However, don't allow the hobbies to steal every single moment of your life as well. Looking back to the second step as knowing your limits, use the limits as an opportunity to savour your hobbies and past times- but not all times, I tell you. Ditching doing what you love only leads to the feeling of blue and lifeless. Meanwhile, spending a quality time for yourself makes you conscious that you are actually alive without merely repeating the same routine that you are forced to do everyday. That being said, enjoying your hobbies make your brain functions better to learn and study. Step 4: Keep it together For all the obstructions and downs we all receive, I can say, keeping it together is not an easy task. Working on your brain cells for eights hours a day, catching up with the house chores every night, dealing with your friends' drama over the weekends, and now, your exam is around the corner. Every single second passes would overwhelm you as you think bearing as a student is a barely thing do. It is not a crime to take a pause to get away from the stress. You are allowed to break down, let the burden out of your chest, and sleep while getting your face submerged in your soggy pillow. Nevertheless, these circumstances and feelings should not be an excuse for you to wail like a crybaby for such a long period of time. The hardships of learning are being experienced by each Earthling, even for the geniuses and gifted people (maybe?). We occasionally tend to chime in with all the problems we face as we make excuses not to get our job done, working hard for the upcoming test, or even complete our daily chores. This results to a severe procrastination that our homework from a week ago is being left undone. That being the case, every now and then, you need put the problems aside and man up. Let the unnecessary feelings flow as the breeze blows your tears away. Shut your eyes to the people who put you in great troubles. Now, inhale to the limit of your lungs and exhale till you shout your problems away. Seize the papers and pens that are being left alone in the dark and get your work done. As I am writing this, I am also making a reminder to myself knowing how flawful I am. I hope these steps are helpful to you who are currently reading. If it is otherwise, I pray that you will find a great and suitable motivation for you. Don't be shy to share your thoughts on the comment section down below, and thank you for spending your time on reading this article. Open your eyes, Live your life, Until next time.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page