top of page
Search
Writer's pictureQueen Siti

Pourtney Pattle - Chapter III


"Are you sure we want to walk in?"


"A story won't be good if we don't take the risk, Maggie," Robert gave me a lecture while smiling.


In front of us, there was an eight feet bubble-like hole. After following the odd noise, we found this stupid hole with a bubble as its entrance. Weirdly, the noise vanished a second after we spotted our eyes on it. In my calculations, this hole would lead to a huge dark tunnel, since we came from a cave and we saw nothing but dark through it. It was quiet impossible and non-logical for a eight feet bubble to meditate alone in this cave. Where did it come from anyway?


Jasmine was taking a lot more photographs of this unique bubbly hole. I'd do the same if I was her. Daniel was only standing quietly, making zero sound. Perhaps he was thinking. Robert, he was examining the hole, studied it so diligently and curiously. But what was I doing? Worrying and shivering with full of feelings of fear. I was afraid. What if something bad would happen to us? What if we will die?


"We will explore this thing by hook or by crook," Daniel broke the silence. Out of the blue, he quickly made his first step into the hole. It got the rest shocked.


"Daniel, wait!" Robert ran into the hole without thinking. They both vanished into thin air. It was only Jasmine and I that was left. We looked at each other quietly.


"We have to go after them," She made a decision.


"But Jasmine, I am afraid!" I started to tear up.


"What's wrong with you, Maggie?! Why you never grow up?!" Her anger warmed up. Wrinkled her pretty eyebrows.


"No, Jas. I just-"


"I've been living with you for eight years but you never changed! I tried my best to help you to transform for a better person but it seems like I'm the only one who wants the change. You never want to try, Maggie. Do you know I brought you here? Because I want you to experience living in a forest. I want you to become brave. Why did I bring Daniel and Robert with us? Because I want you to learn communication. At least for you to know how to handle a conversation. I know this thing that's in front of us is weird as none of us has ever seen it. I can't deny, I'm also afraid. But we can't let fear drown us, Maggie. You're my best friend and I really love you. I don't want you to be like this and stay in the dark. I will lead you to the light," her right hand touched her chest as if she the words came out from her heart.


I was speechless. She was right.


"Now let's go for an adventure," once again, she grabbed my wrist and brought me with her as she jumped through the hole.


Snow? Why did I see snow? Wait a second, were we finally got through the bubbly hole? I thought I would've seen a dark tunnel!


"Jasmine! Maggie!" Robert cried to us from a distance with Daniel standing beside him. They both walked to us.


"Where are we?" asked Jasmine.


"We don't know. We arrived here and out of nowhere we're in winter," explained Daniel worriedly.


The area was empty. Only snow on the ground and a couple of trees. Other than those, it was blank.


"Maybe we should get-"


"Hey!" Before Daniel could finish his sentence there was an old feminine voice shouting from about two meters from us. "What are you doing here?"


We turned our head to the voice's direction; my left. It was a half-age woman with an unattractive and ugly sweater. She walked to us. We were so shocked that we spoke nothing but silence. Only non-stop looking at the woman's face. She stared at each of our faces, one by one. Robert, Daniel, Jasmine and finally, me. She stared at me for a few long seconds without a blink. With a shocked face, she cried.


"Pourtney Pattle?!"




TO BE CONTINUED

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page